Join now - be part of our community!

SAL-75300 75-300mm - why does it have "Macro" on it?

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
YS0203

SAL-75300 75-300mm - why does it have "Macro" on it?

I am fairly new to photography and have a Sony Alpha A37 camera with the above lens. It says "Macro" on the side of the lens and I was told that it would "lock" in macro mode but despite numerous attempts to get close up photos, the camera will not fire at anything near what could be classed as a macro shot. I contacted Sony Europe to ask why this was and have been given the complete run around by their call centre, they blamed the firmware (I have updated it) and then told me that there were compatibility issues with this lens and my camera despite it being sold as a kit. I don't think that this lens functions as a macro lens at all and the label on it is quite misleading. If it does do macro shots can someone explain how I get it to work please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
profile.country.de_DE.title
Jules74
Visitor

Hi YS,

Mick's and Martin's tips are very good for handling your SAL75300 in regards of macro shooting.

The reason why the SAL75300 has "Marco" its name is that it can reproduce images up to a max. magnification ratio of 1:4 (0.25x), which in photographic terms still qualifies as "macro shot". This means that the image on the sensor of your camera is 1/4th of the original subject size. In addition the SAL75300 is optimised to deliver pretty good image quality, even at its closest shooting distance (1.5m).

When looking for a Macro lens the following specifications are important for you (apart from aperture):

Focal length, min. focusing distance and max. magnification ratio.

Here are some examples:

Your SAL75300: focal length 300mm, min. shooting distance: 1.5m, max. magnification: 1:4 (0.25x)

Sony SAL30M28: focal length 30mm, min. shooting distance: 0.129m, max. magnification: 1:1 (1x)