Join now - be part of our community!

Manually setting aperture on A37 with 18-55 f3.5-5.6 lense

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
janothanc
Visitor

Manually setting aperture on A37 with 18-55 f3.5-5.6 lense

As a complete newbie and have recently bought (from Jessops unfortunately) an a37 with a 18-55 lense with my christmas and birthday money The lense has f3.5 - 5.6 written on it.

I am looking at setting manual aperture for playing with depth of field. Still learning how to use the camera.

The lense and sales bunf says it goes from f3.5 to 5.6 but when I adjust the setting manually in A mode and rotating the wheel it only ever goes down to 4.5 not any lower i.e. 3.5. This is the figure I see on the display.

Am I missing a trick somewhere.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Si_1966
New

Have you tried doing a factor reset, it is the initialise option under the setting menu accessed via the menu on the back of the camera. It is worth a try to start with. The other option is to remove the battery from the camera overnight so the camera forgets itself and put it back in. Also make sure that the contacts on the lens are clean and free from grease and dirt.

You might also want to check the firmware level of your camera to ensure it is at the latest level as that will be one of the first things Sony will check. The latest version is 1.03, if you are not on that then it is worth while upgrading first. http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/SLT-A37/updates

If the above fails take it back to where you got it, if it is not online, and get their help, but Sony will help as it is under warranty.

Si

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Si_1966
New

Welcome to Sony forums and congratulation on your purchase, the A37 is an excellent camera.